Kannur University Courses

Updated on: Apr 3, 2013

Kannur University in the district of Kannur was established by the Act 22 of 1996 of Kerala Legislative Assembly. The University was inaugurated on 2nd  March 1996 by the Hon. Chief Minister of Kerala. It is a teaching, residential and affiliating university. The University has its main campus in Mangattuparamba of Kannur District. It offers a wide range of courses. Professional job-oriented courses like Management, and Library and Information Sciences are also offered. The University facilitates laboratories and research facilities for subjects like Biotechnology, Microbiology, Physics and Chemistry.

Given below is a list of Regular courses offered by different teaching departments of the Kannur University:

School of Behavioural Sciences
  • M Sc in Clinical & Counseling Psychology
  • Ph.D. (Regular & Part-time)

School of English & Foreign Languages, Department of Studies in English
  • M.A
  • M.Phil.
  • Ph.D in English
  • Diploma in French
  • Certificate in French:Initiation

School of Social Sciences, Department of Anthropology
  • M.A. Anthropology (4 Semester) – 12 Seats
  • M. Phil Anthropology (2 Semester) – 4 Seats
  • Ph. D Anthropology

School of Life Sciences, Department of Biotechnology & Microbiology
  • M.Sc. Biotechnology (4 semesters)
  • M.Sc. Microbiology (4 semesters)

School of Management Studies, Department of Management Studies
  • MBA (Full Time)
  • PhD (Full Time / Part Time)

School of Information Science & Technology, Department of Information Technology
  • M.C.A. (3 years)
  • M.Sc. Computer Science (2 years)
  • Ph.D.

School of Development Studies ,Department of Applied Economics
  • MA Applied Economics (2 years)
  • Ph.D.

School of Legal Studies, Department of Law
  • LL.B -5 years (Hon.)
  • LL.M (2 years)

School of Physical Education and Sports Sciences, Department of Physical Education
  • Bachelor of Physical Education B.P. Ed. (1 Year)
  • Master of Physical Education M.P. Ed. (2 years)
  • Ph.D. (Regular & Part-time)

School of Chemical Sciences, Department of Chemistry
  • M.Sc. Chemistry (4 Semesters) – Specialization (Material Science)

School of Pure and Applied Physics, Department of Physics
  • M.Sc. Physics (2 years)

School of Visual and Fine Arts, Department of Music
  • MA Music (2 years) Specialisation Karnatic Music

School of Pedagogical Sciences
  • Master of Education (Regular) Duration Two Semesters.

School of Indian Languages
  • M.Phil(kannada)
  • Ph.D Kannada
  • Ph.D Malayalam
  • Certificate course in Kannada
  • Certificate course in Malayalam

Department of Geography
  • M. Sc. Geography (2 years)

School of Health Sciences
  • M.ScMedical Bio Chemistry
    Duration: 3 Yrs. (6 sem. )

  • M.ScMedical Micro Biology
    Duration: 3 Yrs. (6 sem. )

  • M.ScMedicl Bio Chemistry (Lateral entry)
    Duration: 2 Yrs. (4 sem. )

  • M.ScMedicl Bio Micro Biology(Lateral entry)
    Duration: 2 Yrs. (4 sem. )
Subscribe to our newsletter